‘So honoured’: Eight new names added to Auburn’s downtown Tiger Trail | Auburn University Sports News

The Tiger Trail has eight other members.

And Auburn has eight more ways to celebrate legends of the past.

A crowd of more than 100 gathered inside Neville Arena on Friday night to welcome eight former Auburn University Tigers to the local version of the Hollywood Walk of Fame. The Tiger Trail places engraved stones honoring former sports greats on the sidewalk in downtown Auburn as a joint effort of the city and the university.

During the ceremony, inductees delivered remarks and randomly drew their stone placement on downtown sidewalks.

“I am so honored to have my name submitted with the likes of so many Auburn men and women who are here ahead of us – it has paved the way for people like me and those who come behind me,” said said the former Auburn basketball player. said star Marquis Daniels. “I came in as a young guy who, you know, was kind of lost and didn’t have my way – but Auburn accepted me and I love being an Auburn man.”

People also read…

The City of Auburn and its Chamber of Commerce hosted the event for the first time since 2018, honoring its largest class since 1996, when it inducted 13 members in its second year of existence.

Daniels (men’s basketball), Emily Carosone (softball), Kirsty Coventry (women’s swimming), Jimmy Dozier (men’s athletics), Chip Spratlin (men’s golf), Stan White (soccer), Joe Whitt Sr. (soccer/administration) and Greg Williams (riding) were all honoured.

“One of the things I really appreciate about being in Auburn is the relationship between the city and the recognition of the importance of the city of Auburn and Auburn University working together,” Allen said. Greene, athletic director of Auburn. mentioned. “And it’s events like this, and ceremonies like this, inductions like these. It is the fact that we can walk and see the names of famous and important student-athletes and those who are significant in our community.

Five of Friday’s eight winners were honored for their involvement in men’s sports.

Daniels, a key member of Auburn’s 2003 Sweet 16 team, was one of the most notable members of Friday’s ceremony. He played in 111 games in four seasons, averaging 13.8 points and 5.6 rebounds per game. During the Tigers’ 2003 run, Daniels averaged 23.3 points per game. Now, after playing for four NBA franchises, Daniels is the director of player development for Auburn men’s basketball.

White and Whitt were the only winners of the football program.

From 1990 to 1993, White was a four-year starter at quarterback. He started 45 straight games and was named MVP of the 1990 Peach Bowl and 1994 Senior Bowl. White led the Tigers undefeated season in 1993. White joined the Auburn Sports Network in 2001 and hosted games over the past two decades.

Whitt played college football at Alabama State and coached Robert E. Lee High School in Montgomery for seven seasons before coming to the Plains in 1981. He spent a quarter century as a coach Auburn’s assistant, having worked for four different head coaches. Whitt spent nine years as an assistant athletic director at Auburn following his coaching career.

Three of the winners – Carosone, Coventry and Williams – have been recognized for their involvement in women’s sport.

Carosone, a current Auburn assistant coach and former All-American, holds Auburn’s softball program records for batting average, hits and runs scored. She also helped lead the Tigers to back-to-back College World Series appearances in 2015 and 2016. After graduating in 2016, she played four seasons of professional softball and competed for Team Italy at the Games. 2020 Olympics.

Coventry was on three national swimming teams in 2002, 2003 and 2004, and was named the SEC Swimmer of the Year in 2005. She is also a seven-time Olympic medalist for Team Zimbabwe, which includes two medals in gold. She is currently Minister of Youth, Sports, Arts and Recreation of Zimbabwe.

Williams has led Auburn’s equestrian program since its debut in 1996, winning five national titles and four SEC titles. Since the 2010-11 season, Williams’ program has featured more than 100 All-Americans.

Spratlin was an NCAA individual champion in 1995 and the only former Tiger golfer to win such a title. He was also named an All-American and received the Arnold Palmer Award, which is given to the college golfer of the year.

The eldest of Friday’s inductees, Dozier competed for Auburn’s track team from 1958 to 1962. The Columbus, Ga., native was part of the Tigers’ first-ever SEC track and field title in 1961.

Three inductees – Carosone, Coventry and White – were not present at Friday’s ceremony, but gave pre-recorded video speeches. Coventry sent their Zimbabwe video and Carosone missed the road event in Auburn’s softball road series at Arkansas.

With the eight additions, the trail now has 140 names, including Charles Barkley, Bo Jackson, Frank Thomas, and Pat Dye, among others.

Plaques for Friday’s eight winners have already been made, Auburn Chamber President and CEO Anna Hovey said, and she hopes they will be placed within the next two weeks.

David H. Henry